theradishpress

Tuesday, April, 22, 08

elections and lies

Filed under: a moment in my head — theradishpress @ 10:31 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I do not like Obama distancing himself from Pastor Wright. That is proof that he is like every other politician, only trying to save his own ass. Maybe he really does disagree with Wright, but to refer to him as his “former” pastor in regards to what Wright said, just seems like Obama is acting as is expected.

Frankly, I do not see what is wrong with what Wright said. One of the biggest problems with this country is the lack of accountability. Take some fucking responsibility for the atrocities that have taken place. Own up to them. Why was I not officially taught about the prison camps Japanese were put in to until I was a junior in high school? Why was I taught that people like Columbus, De Gama, Cortze, etc were heroes? Why was I taught that groups like the Black Panthers and American Indian Movement are terrorist groups? Thankfully, I was getting better history lessons at home. I recently watched The Good Shepard and that movie confirmed for me that I am not crazy. I do not trust this government, and there is no reason I should. I was born into enemy blood and am at risk.

Why. That is the question that this country fails to ask. When I say “this country” I mean the government and those citizens who refuse to ask questions and take accountability. Let’s ask why Pastor Wright said what he said? Why is he angered by the United States? Why? I believe he was sharing his truth. (Also, if at this point people watching TV are not aware that things are edited and distorted…idiots.)

The US government has failed to ask why with regards to the September 11th attacks. And in so doing, encouraged US citizens to ignore that question as well, while this government wages war, more like enacts genocide, upon Afghans and Iraqis. Don’t worry North Korea and Iran, you may get your turn soon.

“Why” is an important question. But it is not encouraged at all. Ever. I remember as a child being told not to ask too many questions. Well, sorry fuckers, I always have and that is *why* I am not voting. That is why I do not trust anyone. That is why I used to have nightmares that this government took my father away and imprisoned our whole family. Not just me and my siblings and mother, extended family as well. (Yet again, Good Shepard confirming a lot of those fears).

I was watching some of the Clinton/Obama debate the other night. First off, I could not help but think of Black Bush from Chapelle’s Show when he keeps saying “you’re skirtin’ from the real issues.” So much time of the Clinton/Obama debate was spent on discussing things each of them has supposedly said about the other, lies about their past, Pastor Wright, etc. They were not being drilled on issues like the war, education, health care. Maybe they got around to that. My blood was already boiling. I will say this, Obama at least tried to move conversation away from personal attacks. Clinton seemed to really relish the opportunity to talk shit, particularly in regards to Pastor Wright.

Again, what is wrong with what Wright said? Of course he is being called anti-American and racist. White people love to call non-white people racist. They love to find the opportunity for some sort of mistreatment by an African-American or Asian or whoever, just so they can pull the classic “reverse racism” bullshit. First off, let’s not forget that there are African-Americans alive today who lived through the whole “separate but equal” crap. Let’s not forget that slavery did not end that long ago. Let’s not forget that 10 years ago James Byrd was dragged to his death in Jasper, Texas. Let’s not forget the Jena Six. And these are only a few of the things done against only one group of people by the United States. Would you care for me to go on about acts committed against the Sioux, Navajo, Pawnee and other tribes? Would you care for me to go on about United States colonialism past and present?

White people do not like to be called out on their racism. They do not want to discuss the things of the past as if they are still relevant to the present and future. But they are. And anyone who has suffered any sort of trauma knows that. Why, for example, did I fear that my family would be imprisoned and my father taken away? I was raised with the knowledge that this country had abused Iranians and Muslims and that we were not welcome here. I was raised with the experiences of my parents. And then, of course, I got a taste for the hatred myself. I was discriminated against by other kids and adults. Maybe because they were also raised with the experiences of their parents. These cycles have to stop. Educating ourselves is one way to do that. Though, I mean this in regard to passing on hate. Passing on mistrust of the US government and passing on mistrust of white people for people of color is not necessarily a bad thing. It is necessary for all of the Others to be able to navigate in this society and survive. And in order to do so, being educated is key. Mistrust is one of the things I was educated in. And maybe, ultimately, in order for there to be true change, this also needs to stop. But I need to see a greater effort from those in places of privilege. I need to see reason for me to let my guard down.

And I have. I have met some truly righteous white people in my life, who work to end racism, classism, and all the isms that have made this country the hot mess of empirialism that it is. And I know that there are some white people who are going to read this and get upset and say “that’s not me!” Well, if it’s not you, ten great. But that is one of the mistakes made by white people, myself included (let’s not forget, again, I am half-white, even if throughout my whole life I have not been treated as such). We distance ourselves from other white people, from those whose ideas and ideals go against our own, particularly when they enforce white patriarchy. But white people cannot keep turning their backs. White people need to stay in the conversation, as NCBI loves to say. Racism is not just an issue for people of color.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

