theradishpress

Thursday, May, 1, 08

6. Drugstore Cowboys

Filed under: movie list — theradishpress @ 10:18 am
Tags: , , ,

I actually rented this. The problem was, at the time, I still lived at home. After all, it was high school. The movie started and I knew there was no way I would get to finish it. We had one TV in the family room and my parents’ bedroom was right next door. I could not watch a movie about junkies without them walking by and possibly joining me…awkward. I want to finish it though, I think. Matt Dillon is a good enough reason to see it. Gus Van Sant…well, it’s hard to say. The fact that he made Last Days annoys me. Of course, Drugstore Cowboys came out way before then and I knew nothing of it. But he’s weird. Sometimes I feel like Van Sant tries too hard to be artistic and strange. Those things should come naturally. David Lynch is naturally a weirdo. David Gordon Greene is naturally artistic, and a little strange. Van Sant, I think he is overall a good director. He has made a wide range of quality movies, like Elephant, Good Will Hunting, To Die For, and My Own Private Idaho. But even Idaho has this really pushed artistic feeling to it. I know, I know, it is Shakespearian, but Clueless and 10 Things I Hate About You are as well and they are not at times awkward to watch. I can easily Netflix this. I am inclined to do so. I can always stop it if I feel it’s a little too Van Sant and not enough story.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

