theradishpress

Sunday, June, 21, 09

Elections all over again…Iran

Filed under: a moment in my head — theradishpress @ 4:59 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

by theradishpress

So, I have been silent on here. Not in other instances, but here. I have a lot going on in my head right now, and I am not even in Iran. I am physically removed from that home of mine. I did not vote either. I thought long and hard about it, and for a while I kept close tabs on this election. I lost touch with it a little ago so much so that when it came to the week of election I did not even realize until a few days before Friday.

My main reason for not voting was that I felt that not living in Iran makes it unfair. Then I thought that does not matter really, because I am still going to feel the effects of election results. These things being said, I do not regret not voting.

And that is not the point of this either. The point of this is to talk about what is going on now. And the truth is, I do not know how to begin talking, well, writing. So I will just write what comes to mind. It may not make sense and I may repeat myself, but I need an outlet. I need my mind to have some sort of outlet, nice for me to have this and not worry about getting hurt.

Iran is a large country, Tehran is a small part. That is in no way said to minimize what is going on there. And I have heard it said over and over again that governments should fear their people. I agree. They should. And good for Iranians for standing up for themselves. They always have. The revolution, while it happened before I was born, was not long ago. I am not so far removed from the revolution as I am from the one in the US. So what that I was not born in Iran and that I have not lived there, nor been there since childhood, the fact of the matter is I feel connected to that home of mine. And I love that home of mine and I love that I am part of a people who refuse to be held down by anyone, especially their own. We, Iranians, do not like to be told what to do, we do not like to take orders, we do not like interference. Maybe that’s why I can relate to some anarchist ideals.

Whether Ahmadinejad won or not is beside the point now. (Also, can we take a moment to not forget that George Bush stole the presidency and we here in the US did not so much as bat our lashes. We should have taken our anger to the streets. We could learn a thing or two from not just Iran, but just about every other nation out there. How sedated are we? And yes, I include myself in this. I am not without fault. We need to all be held accountable.) The point now is that there are a lot of people who are not happy with Ahmadinejad as president again. There are a lot of people who are not happy with how things are run.

I of course cannot help but go back to feeling on the defensive of who I am and where I come from, of how we Iranians, Middle Easterners, Muslims are portrayed by Western media. We yet again are violent people, irrational, crazed, and the list goes on. I am no expert on Iran or politics or Islam or people my age or the revolution; I am only an expert on myself and my experiences and how I am reading the media and watching the media. There is truth to the idea that people are indifferent until things are in their own backyard. I am not indifferent to things in the world, but certainly feel removed. Until now. Now I feel overwhelmed and powerless and I want to help and I feel like I do not know what to do or where to start. I suppose this is some sort of start.

I cannot help but feel some annoyance too at the sudden rush of love for Iran and Iranians that a lot of folks here in the US have. On the one hand it is great to know that folks are paying attention and showing support. On the other hand it feels self-serving, or like the usual colonizing mind-set of  “we know what’s best for you savages.”

There also needs to be a serious analysis of the media – though that needs to always be the case – because everything is so completely one-sided. I am not one to ever take sides with government, and I am not here. and that is it, the media tends to be in support of government and corporate interests, I am not talking Iranian media here. It is old news that the US media is controlled by five corporations. Hello, Fox News is not the only one full of liars and thieves. They just happen to be more honest about … well, about lying. So as I read stories on CNN, BBC, NYTimes, Washington Post, PressTV, etc. I keep thinking, “what is not being told? what has been left out? whose voices are not being shared?” But mostly I think, “whose interests are being served here?”

One thought that crossed my mind, and here comes that orange jumpsuit for a permanent stay in Cuba, is that this is so convenient for the US. Iran is more than vulnerable right now. But having Ahmadinejad as president is great too, because he only adds to already existing tension. He creates turmoil. He will be the end to Iran as it is known. And yes, all governments fall, and I will be the first to say that there is a lot that needs to change in Iran, but who is Ahmadinejad helping anyway?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

