theradishpress

Wednesday, October, 20, 10

Sofia Coppola Does Not Front

Filed under: cinema — theradishpress @ 12:08 pm
Tags: ,

by theradishpress

When I first saw the trailer for Sofia Coppola’s new film Somewhere, I fell in love. First off, great use of (my favorite) “I’ll Try Anything Once” by The Strokes. Secondly, it looks visually stunning. Then I saw the trailer again, and again. And I thought more about the movie and about Lost in Translation and Marie Antoinette I began to hate. I started thinking “why would I want to see some pretentious movie about yet another rich over-privileged person?”

This past weekend I went to see It’s Kind of a Funny Story and the trailer for Somewhere played before the film. I realized, this movie looks well crafted and the story looks sweet. Coppola is a great director and she is unafraid to tell stories that do not end happily or neatly. And more importantly, in relation to my previous hating, she does not pretend to be someone she is not. Coppola comes from a famous wealthy family. She is not trying to tell a story about someone or something she is not. And at the same time, she does not hold her privileged upbringing over viewers. This is not the Coppola show or the “look at me, I come from a famous family” show either. It is honest, pure and simple. And why not tell stories we can relate to? After all, I admit to preferring stories about working class folks or folks struggling with racism or sexism. But above all, I prefer honesty. And from what I have seen and what I can gather from this trailer, Coppola remains honest.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

